Skip to main content

Midway Elementary School

318 Midway School Rd | Lexington, NC 27295 phone Phone: 336-764-0064 phone Fax: 336-764-2313


Our School Improvement Team meets monthly to review the School Improvement Plan goals, school safety and any information that impacts overall school improvement. SIT meetings are open meetings. School Improvement Plans are required by the state of North Carolina. The Davidson County Board of Education reviews and approves each School Improvement Plan.

Personnel and student concerns are not discussed at SIT meetings. Personnel concerns should be directed to administration. Student concerns should be directed to the student’s teacher, school counselor, or administration. Any agenda items to be discussed at SIT meetings should be sent to the SIT chair. 

SIT representatives are approved by vote and are responsible for contributing to meeting discussions in a positive and professional manner. Representatives collect and share information among colleagues.

Our team has chosen the 2 following indictors for our focus for the beginning of the year.

A4.01 Indicator: The school implements a tiered instructional system that allows teachers to deliver evidence-based instruction aligned with the individual needs of students across all tiers.
E1.06 Indicator: The school regularly and clearly communicates with parents about its expectations of them and the importance of the curriculum of the home.
The team created tasks and action steps to help us as a school move towards full implementation of these 2 indicators. Once we have met the indicator with full implementation, we will move on to another indicator.
To see the plan and follow the schools progress towards the indicators please go to the below website
School Improvement Plan for 2017-2018          School Improvement Plan 
Username: GuestS16069  
Password:  GuestS16069


Representatives for the 2017-18 school year are:

April Willard   Administration

Dr. Dara Hedgecock  Administration

Allison Huff              Kindergarten

Tina Oetjens 1st Grade -CHAIR

Nicole South           2nd Grade - secretary

Melaine Kennedy    3rd Grade

Allyson Medlin         4th Grade (chair elect)

Amanda Stallings     5th Grade

Beth Atkins          Student Services

Dee Hartman          Assistants

Joanie Williams      Media/Enrichment

Melissa Tulluck      PBIS

Kristi Bell                Parent (Voted by PTO)


Representatives were elected by peers:

SIT Meeting Dates: 

                               September 21, 2017 @ 2:45
                                    October 19, 2017 @ 2:45
                                November 16, 2017 @ 2:45
                                December 20, 2017 @ 2:45
                                    January 18, 2018 @ 2:45
                                   February 15, 2018 @ 2:45
                                       March 15, 2018 @ 2:45
                                          April 26, 2018 @ 2:45
                                          May 17, 2018 @ 2:45

     All meetings will be on the third Thursday of the month in the PLC Room.

*Safety Team meeting to precede SIT agenda during the October, January, February, and May meetings.

SIT Minutes are available upon request.